Thanu and Nongyao Kulachol Library Scholarship

Main Content

About the Scholarship

This $1,000 scholarship is intended for undergraduate students who are interested in the educational, historical, political, cultural, and social aspects of Southeast Asia. Preference will be given to students with a specific interest in Thailand.

The namesake of the scholarship, Dr. Thanu Kulachol, has dedicated his professional life to academic advancement in higher education. Dr. Kulachol is a man of many achievements, having twice been appointed to the Thai Senate. Dr. Kulachol also served (and is currently appointed) on the Commission for Higher Education overseeing all public and private educational institutions in Thailand. He has also been invited twice to the United Nations forum on higher education by Secretary-General Kofi Annan where he was part of an exclusive group of only 19 other university presidents.

One of his great achievements was the development of Bangkok University as an international leader in Thailand and Southeast Asia. The oldest and largest private university in the country, Bangkok University owes most of its programs, organizational structure, national and international recognition, and relationships to the inspiration, leadership, and business skills of Dr. Kulachol.

Dr. Kulachol completed a Doctor of Philosophy in Education and Human Services from SIUC in 1977. In 2019, he was awarded an Honorary Degree from SIU recognizing his life-long contributions to international higher education.

The 2025 scholarship process will be announced in early Spring 2025.


  • The recipient must be a sophomore, junior, or senior at SIU Carbondale.
  • The recipient must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0.
  • Applicants must submit an essay discussing why they deserve to receive the scholarship.
  • The full application must be received on or before Monday, April 1, 2024.

The Dean of Library Affairs and a committee of faculty and staff from the library and campus will select the scholarship recipient.

Past Winners

Congratulations to the 2024 winner, Taegan Carpenter!